Text Size: A| A| Reset
Media Releases

Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer selects Rural Health Working Group members

by Eileen Hawley | Jan 13, 2016

Kansas Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer, M.D., today announced the selection of nine members for the Rural Health Working Group. As requested by Governor Sam Brownback in his State of the State address, the working group will address the problems of health care delivery in rural Kansas. The working group will present a proposal to Governor Brownback in early 2017.

“The Rural Health Working Group brings together a wealth of professional knowledge and personal experience to address rural healthcare access and outcomes with Kansas solutions,” Lt. Governor Colyer said. “As a fifth generation rural Kansan and physician, I understand that rural hospitals are often the lifeblood of their community. We must continue to form Kansas solutions to sustain rural health care.”

Working group members have diverse backgrounds and include frontline stakeholders, rural hospital administrators, policy makers. The inaugural meeting will be held during the 2016 legislative session.

Rural Health Working Group Members:


Lt. Governor Jeff Colyer



Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook, Public Health and Welfare Chair

Representative Daniel Hawkins, Health and Human Services Chair

Senator Mitch Holmes, Rural legislator

Representative Jim Kelly, Rural legislator

Linda Stalcup, Stevens County Hospital CEO

Dr. Jenifer Cook, Rural Physician

Kari Bruffett, Kansas Health Institute Director of Policy

Secretary Susan Mosier, Kansas Department of Health and Environment 

State Seal of Kansas